STIC operates the Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Waiver Regional Resource Development Center (RRDC) in 12 counties of South-Central New York, under contract to the New York State Department of Health. We assist Medicaid-eligible people with TBI to leave nursing homes and move into the community or to obtain services to avoid nursing home placement. We can help people through the eligibility process, to select a service coordination agency, and to access other benefit programs and services in the community.


In order to receive services

  • Have a diagnosis of TBI or a related diagnosis
  • Be assessed to need nursing facility level of care (NFLOC) as established by the currently approved assessment instrument, the Uniform Assessment System for New York (UAS-NY), as a direct result of the Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI).
  • Be a Medicaid recipient
  • Be 18-64 years old
  • Choose to participate in the waiver and be able to identify a residence in which he/she will be residing when receiving waiver services
  • Be able to be safely served with the services available under the HCBS/TBI waiver and New York State Medicaid State Plan.

Service Area

Serving the New York counties of:
• Allegany
• Broome
• Cayuga
• Chemung
• Chenango
• Cortland
• Delaware
• Otsego
• Schuyler
• Steuben
• Tioga
• Tompkins




Contact Information

Lead Regional Resource Development Specialist

Phone: 607-724-2111 ext. 369

Fax: 607-772-3609

Email: tbiresource@stic-cil.org